Pro WrestlingWWE

WWE Bringing Back Slammy Awards

The WWE hasn’t done its annual Slammy awards in five years, but it was once a staple for fans to vote on things such as Superstar of the Year, Tag Team of the Year, Woman of the Year, Rivalry of the Year, among others. The most recent to be crowned Superstar of the Year is Seth Rollins, who was awarded the honor in 2015.

The first Slammy awards were in 1986, based on actual musical numbers. In 1987, Vince McMahon had his infamous “Stand Back” performance. It disappeared until 1994 and was a mainstay until 1997. During this period, “2x Slammy Award winner” Owen Hart made it so meaningful that that’s what people think of when they think of Slammy awards.

The Slammy’s went away until 2008, when Chris Jericho was christened Superstar of the Year.

Who would you like to see nominated for the award’s this year?

Show More

Related Articles

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x