Cincinnati RedsMLB

Trevor Bauer Becomes First Red to Win Cy Young

Spread the love

Trevor Bauer had a picture of Hall of Famer Jim Palmer with Palmer’s Cy Young Award as his phone wallpaper for years, saying he’d one day win one. He is now the first Cincinnati Red to win the NL Cy Young, and did it rather decisively getting 27 of the 30 first place votes. Yu Darvish, Jacob deGrom and Dinelson Lamet rounded out the top four.

Bauer’s former teammate, Shane Bieber, won in the AL.

Bauer was electric in 2020. He’s the first Red to win an ERA title since 1944 (Ed Huesser), posting a 1.73 ERA over 73 innings of work. He went 5-4 with a 2.7 WAR, 100 Ks and a lead-league 276 ERA+.

He is a pending free agent and it’s been a big tease as to where he’ll end up. Wherever he does go is getting a bonafide ace, however. Congratulations to Trevor Bauer.

Show More
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x