The NFL is Expanding the Playoffs to 14 Teams, Effective this Season

Spread the love

Good news for football fans and middle of the road NFL teams alike, the NFL playoff pool will now feature 14 teams instead of 12.

The two additional teams will be represented by a third wild card spot from each conference. In the new format, AFC and NFC Wild Card games will feature the 2 seed hosting the 7 seed, the 3 seed hosting the 6 seed and the 4 seed hosting the 5 seed. The two additional games will be broadcasted by NBC and CBS.

For those worried that this will potentially add teams with losing records to the playoff field, keep in mind that since the NFL has been using a 12-team playoff, only one team with a below .500 record would make the playoffs in a 14-team format.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button