Cleveland IndiansMLB

Shane Bieber Wins AL Cy Young

Spread the love

Shane Bieber of the Indians was the first pitcher to win the AL Triple Crown since Tigers Justin Verlander in 2011. He is also the first unanimous AL Cy Young Winner since Justin Verlander in 2011.

Bieber garnered all first place votes in the Cy Young voting. He is the first Indian to win the award since former teammate Corey Kluber. Kenta Maeda finished second, Hyun-Jin Ryu finished third, Gerrit Cole finished fourth and 2015 recipient Dallas Keuchel finished fifth.

Despite a shortened season due to COVID-19, the 25-year-old was historically great. Denny McLain, Ron Guidry, Roger Clemens, Pedro Martinez and Justin Verlander are the only other unanimous AL Cy winners. Bieber led baseball with a 1.63 ERA, struck out 122 in only 12 starts (77.1 IP, 14.2 K per 9), and went 8-1. He struck out more than 100 batters than he walked. His one postseason outing against the Yankees did not go according to plan, but this is a regular season award and nobody was a better regular season pitcher in 2020 than Shane Bieber. Congratulations to Shane Bieber.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button