Yooper News

PLEASE SHARE: Spring-Winter Storm Expected to Hit Upper Peninsula Sunday Afternoon

Starting Sunday night (Easter Sunday), an early Spring-Winter storm is anticipated to hit the majority of the Upper Peninsula all through Tuesday morning-afternoon.

As shown in the graphic via WLUC-TV6, the hardest hit areas that could be affected the most are in the higher terrain areas along Marquette, Baraga, and Houghton Counties.

The storm is predicted to bring down 25 inches of mixed rain-snow precipitation near the cities of L’Anse, Marquette, and Gwinn. There is also a prediction that there will be winds gusting up to 40 mph. A Winter Storm Warning is in effect for those areas until 8 am EST Tuesday.

A Winter Storm Warning is also in effect for the areas of Grand Marais and Munising until 5 am Tuesday. 10 to 14 inches of precipitation is expected, and winds are expected to gust up to 45 mph.

A Winter Storm Warning is in effect from 2 pm Sunday to 4 PM CST Monday for the areas in Iron River and Iron Mountain/Kingsford. Mixed precipitation accumulation is expected to be up to 7 to 15 inches with winds gusting up to 40 mph.

A Winter Weather Advisory will be in effect from 3 pm EST/2 pm CST Sunday to 5 pm EST/4 pm CST Monday for cities Escanaba, Gladstone and Menominee. 3 to 7 inches of mixed precipitation is predicted for those areas, along with winds gusting from 35-40 mph.

The winds are expected to be strongest on Monday, and it could result in tree damage and power outages in some areas.

If you have to travel while these storm warnings/advisories are in effect, please be safe while doing so.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button