LSU vs. Clemson – Which Tigers Will Get Their Paws on the CFP National Championship?

Spread the love

It’s the tooth and claw tangle pitting Tigers against Tigers, unbeaten 14-0 versus undefeated 14-0 where one must fall, head coaches Ed Orgeron and Dabo Swinney testing their tactical tenacity to the limits, the clash of the quarterbacks between Joe Burrow and Trevor Lawrence; and so much more when LSU take on Clemson for the 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship.

May the Best Team Win

LSU Tigers take on Clemson Tigers on Monday 13 January, kickoff 8pm Eastern, as two of the very best NCAAF teams go head to head at the 73,208-capacity Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans. Both teams have enjoyed exceptional form and results throughout the 2019 NCAA Division I FBS football season, setting the pace during a milestone 150th anniversary of college football in the United States.

Predicting the final outcome of the game between these two powerful teams is by no means easy. Peach Bowl and SEC champions LSU are currently the No. 1 ranked college football program in the country with a 14-0 record for the season, while Fiesta Bowl and ACC champions Clemson rank No. 3 in the country and also boast a 14-0 record for the campaign.

Although they have appeared in four finals and won the CFP National Championship twice since the playoff finals format was first introduced in 2014, Clemson are actually the +180 underdogs this time. Meanwhile, -220 American football odds on the money line favor LSU

to reign supreme in their home state.

Clash of the Quarterbacks

In the spotlight ahead of the CFP National Championship game this year are two of the very best quarterbacks in college football, albeit with very contrasting styles and different ways of contributing to the success of their respective teams.Throwing a phenomenal 5,208 yards in 14 games which led to 55 touchdowns, LSU quarterback Joe Burrow won the 2019 Heisman Trophy in recognition for his outstanding performance this year. Only the second player in LSU history to win the prestigious award, there was no contest as votes favored Burrow by 1,846 points, shattering the previous record set in 1968 by O.J. Simpson with the USC Trojans.

Tipped as a potential Heisman winner ahead of the 2019-20 season, although he didn’t come close to winning that award, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence still threw 3,431 yards for 36 touchdowns. Aside from the accuracy of his arm, the running game of Lawrence was highlighted by ESPN recently, having led Clemson in both rushes and yards in the Fiesta Bowl win against Ohio State.

Predicting the Winners

Under normal circumstances and as reigning CFP National Champions after beating the Alabama Crimson Tide last year, Clemson Tigers would typically be considered the favorites. However, the potency and quality of the LSU spread offensive scheme with Burrow riding shotgun has proven unstoppable this year, suggesting they will have a powerful edge over their rivals at the 2020 game in New Orleans.

Show More


Blogging since 2011. Founder of, founded in 2012. From the beautiful Upper Peninsula. Real name is Trevor Uren.

Related Articles

Back to top button