MLBSeattle Mariners

Kyle Lewis First Mariner to Win ROTY Since Suzuki

Spread the love

While Devin Williams took home the honors in the National League, Kyle Lewis of the Mariners was a surprising unanimous selection, even if he’s deserving of the award. With the hype Luis Robert, many expected a tight race but Lewis received every first place vote. He is the first Mariner to win ROTY since Ichiro Suzuki in 2001.

He led all MLB rookies in WAR. He hit 11 homeruns. He played stellar defense. He stole bases, he got on base. Kyle Lewis did it all in 2020. His 34 walks were most by a rookie this season.

Lewis was selected 11th overall in 2016, but faced major knee injuries in both 2017 and 2018. He made his major league debut in September 2019, belting six homeruns and generating a lot of hype. He did not disappoint in 2020. Congratulations to Kyle Lewis.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button